Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 7th, 2011

After dropping Rob and friends off at a marina in Rio Vista, I spent a little time walking around this small Sacramento River Delta town. Founded in 1858, Rio Vista has been flooded, burned to the ground and relocated.  It is now a destination for boaters and fishermen with its easy access to the delta.  I was draw to the old neon signs around town, and was sorry that Foster’s Bighorn wasn’t open until 10am — I missed seeing the collection of over 300 big game and wildlife “trophies.”

From here I was on my way to look for Sandhill Cranes near the Cosumnes Preserve. Unfortunately, after a beautiful sunny week, the skies had become overcast and rain was forecast for later in the day.   Despite the less that favorable light, I was determined to see the cranes again – and I was not disappointed.  I drove down Woodbridge Road, and although there were no cranes present at the Sandhill Crane Preserve, there were quite a few further down the road.  There were many flocks scattered across the barren corn fields, and they busied themselves with foraging in the mud for grain, insects, and small vertebrates and invertebrates.

Flock of sandhill cranes in fallow corn field. Woodbridge Road

Sandhill cranes in corn field on Woodbridge road

This area is rich, not only with cranes, but with many other species of birds as well.  This great egret seemed to have a lot to say as it strutted along, and I was thrilled to catch this peregrine falcon on an overhead power pole.

great egret

Peregrine falcon on power pole. High Voltage.

By 3 pm the weather was beginning to deteriorate, so it was time to head home.  In the distance I saw this lovely tree, full of blackbirds and one hawk. It was a good day.

 

Blackbirds, hawk in a foggy tree.

Read Full Post »